Posted: December 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

I am fascinated by that era of war long passed before me. I am glad that it’s now a time of peace, but part of me is always amazed by all the accounts I read of all the wars and political unrest. Women, waiting for their husbands and fathers to come home from war, young men enlisting in wars, university students sitting in coffee shops discussing politics, starting movements, doing something of contribution to their nation. When people wrote accounts, testimonies, journals, not for fun or expression but to DOCUMENT the gist of what had happened.

The American Civil War, World War II, the Holocaust. Untold losses of human life. And it all somehow tells me how glad I am to be life. That I have many more things to do in life. That I love studying history.

Leave a Reply

